You are currently viewing Penalties of Being Uninsured in Texas

Penalties of Being Uninsured in Texas


Automotive Accident Info, Automotive Accidents

Posted by Trent Kelly on December 28, 2022
Driving Without Insurance in Texas

It’s an unlucky truth of life, however accidents occur. Each day in Texas, folks behind the wheel discover themselves in a collision with different drivers and sadly endure harm to their our bodies and their automobiles. Nevertheless, the best loss in a fender bender tends to happen when one or each events is uninsured.

Automotive insurance coverage advantages not solely you and your automobile, however others who may find yourself in an accident with you as effectively. With out automotive insurance coverage, each you and the opposite occasion or events concerned in an accident can find yourself paying 1000’s of {dollars} out of pocket. Should you have been concerned in a automotive accident in Texas, contact an Austin automotive accident lawyer immediately.

Varieties of Insurance coverage Protection in Texas

Chapter 601 of the Texas Transportation Code is named the Texas Motor Car Security Accountability Act, and Texas Transportation Code § 601.051 establishes a requirement of economic duty. Underneath this state regulation, an individual can’t function a motorized vehicle in Texas except monetary duty is established for his or her automobile by means of both a motorized vehicle legal responsibility insurance coverage coverage that complies with Subchapter D; a surety bond filed beneath Texas Transportation Code § 601.121; a deposit beneath Texas Transportation Code § 601.122; a deposit beneath Texas Transportation Code § 601.123; or self-insurance beneath Texas Transportation Code § 601.124.

Texas Transportation Code § 601.008 establishes {that a} violation of the Texas Motor Car Security Accountability Act is punishable by a high-quality of as much as $500 and/or confinement in county jail for as much as 90 days. Usually, a primary offense of driving with out insurance coverage will value as much as $350 for a high-quality, however additionally, you will face a surcharge of $250 that should be paid for 3 years.

Fines can attain $1,000 for second or subsequent offenses and people additionally contain three years of $250 surcharges. All of this isn’t to say you can face the potential for your automobile being impounded, which is able to solely add extra charges to be paid and your automobile won’t be launched till you possibly can show you will have legitimate insurance coverage.

Even worse, you may be required to acquire an SR-22 insurance coverage kind out of your insurance coverage firm in case you are chargeable for an vehicle accident, which is a sort of high-risk motorist insurance coverage sometimes reserved for folks convicted of driving whereas intoxicated (DWI). There could also be an computerized suspension of your automobile registration and driver’s license for as much as two years.

Underneath Texas Transportation Code § 601.195, an individual commits an offense if they’re required to ascertain monetary duty, don’t preserve proof of economic duty, and throughout the interval proof of economic duty should be maintained, operates a motorized vehicle or knowingly allow one other one who is just not in any other case permitted to function a automobile to function on a freeway a motorized vehicle owned by the particular person. This offense is a misdemeanor punishable by a high-quality of as much as $500 and/or confinement in county jail for as much as six months.

In accordance with the Insurance coverage Info Institute (III), 8.3 % of drivers in Texas are uninsured, which is fortieth within the nation (Mississippi is highest with 29.4 % whereas New Jersey is lowest with 3.1 %). Texas requires all drivers to take care of vehicle insurance coverage insurance policies with 30/60/25 protection, which implies $30,000 of protection for accidents per particular person, as much as a complete of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 of protection for property injury.

Not Having Proof Of Insurance coverage

Texas does acknowledge two defenses to driving with out proof of economic duty offenses. Texas Transportation Code § 601.193 states that it’s a protection when an individual produces to the court docket one of many types of proof of economic duty listed in Texas Transportation Code § 601.053(a) that was legitimate on the time of an alleged offense, and Transportation Code § 601.194 supplies that it is usually a protection {that a} motorized vehicle operated by an individual was within the possession of that particular person for the only real function of upkeep or restore and was not owned in complete or partly by that particular person.

UM/UIM Declare Overview

In Texas, you’ll want to carry uninsured motorist insurance coverage (“UM/UIM insurance coverage”). This may defend you in case you might be in a collision with an underinsured or uninsured driver and they’re at fault. In both case, the motive force won’t have sufficient legal responsibility insurance coverage to financially compensate you on your accidents.

It might be a good suggestion to buy a separate UM/UIM insurance coverage coverage because the uninsured motorist protection that’s included with an everyday auto insurance coverage coverage is normally not sufficient. UM/UIM insurance coverage is all the time non-obligatory, however for those who refuse it, it’s essential to achieve this in writing to your insurance coverage firm.

UM/UIM insurance coverage will cowl you in a wide range of circumstances, whether or not it’s the opposite driver’s insurance coverage firm denying protection for the declare, if the insurer has gone bankrupt, or for those who have been the sufferer of a hit-and-run accident.

With out UM insurance coverage in a hit-and-run, you’ll not be compensated for damages to your automobile. That is solely as a result of, in a hit-and-run, you might be unlikely to search out the motive force who broken your automobile.

Texas regulation requires that you’ve got the next minimal legal responsibility protection:

  • $30,000 of bodily harm protection per particular person;
  • $60,000 of whole bodily harm protection per accident; and
  • $25,000 of property injury protection per accident.

You probably have suffered whiplash or any again accidents, medical operations to repair these points can value 1000’s of {dollars}. Having the additional safety is usually a lifesaver.

It’s a good suggestion to overview your UM/UIM insurance coverage protection each six months. Your insurance coverage service will normally can help you add extra protection to your coverage in increments of $5,000.

What You Can Search from Your Protection

Underneath UM/UIM insurance coverage, the bodily harm protection will cowl sure prices with out deductibles. UM/UIM insurance coverage can cowl your accidents, any passenger accidents, and the associated fee to restore your automobile.

The next prices are coated beneath UM/UIM insurance coverage:

  • Previous and future medical prices;

Texas is an At-Fault State Relating to Automotive Insurance coverage Claims

In terms of automotive insurance coverage, Texas is considered one of 38 at-fault states on this nation. Being in an at-fault state signifies that the motive force that’s chargeable for a automotive accident should pay for the ensuing automobile injury and accidents.

If the motive force who hit your automobile is underinsured, their insurance coverage will first payout for any damages. In case your damages exceed their protection, then your UM/UIM motorist protection insurance coverage will cowl the rest.

Can Different Insurance coverage Protection Assist?

If you’re in an accident with an uninsured driver, the collision protection you bought along with your auto coverage will cowl injury to your automobile. You probably have accidents, you possibly can put a declare in by means of your well being insurer.

Nevertheless, relying on the extent of your accidents, chances are you’ll want extra intensive medical care. It’s possible you’ll find yourself having to pay out-of-pocket, which may add up quick.

Should you have been concerned in a severe accident and are unable to work, you is likely to be unable to get compensated. Having uninsured motorist insurance coverage may assist to maintain you afloat in case you are on this scenario.

Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Texas

In 1981, Texas handed the Motor Car Security Accountability Act (Texas Transportation Code § 601.001) which requires drivers to buy legal responsibility insurance coverage protection.

If a motorist nonetheless decides to drive whereas uninsured, they may very well be penalized as much as $1,000. You would additionally obtain an annual surcharge of $250 for 3 years, suspension of your driver’s license, and automobile impoundment.

With the state requiring drivers to satisfy the minimal insurance coverage necessities, it prevents different highway customers from having to make claims by means of their automotive insurers, if they aren’t chargeable for the accident.

Negotiating a Declare vs. Submitting a Lawsuit

It might take a number of months for a settlement settlement to be reached, and the quantity provided might not absolutely cowl your medical bills.

While you make a declare by means of your auto coverage service, you might be requesting to be compensated for the accidents or losses you suffered. In case your insurer doesn’t wish to pay you a good settlement quantity, then chances are you’ll want to think about going to court docket.

Statute of Limitations

Every state has particular timeframes through which they permit an individual to convey a declare to court docket. This is named a statute of limitations. If a declare is filed after a statute of limitations has handed, then the case will likely be dismissed.

Should you make an uninsured/underinsured motorist protection declare and your insurance coverage firm denies it, there are authorized cures obtainable to you. In Texas, a declare relating to a contract dispute must be filed inside a four-year time interval. This statute of limitations is predicated on the Texas Civil Apply and Treatments Code § 16.004.

The petitioner (particular person submitting the lawsuit) should file the declare no later than 4 years after the “day the reason for motion accrues.” On this case, the reason for motion accrues, or comes into existence, the date the automotive accident occurred.

Nevertheless, in case you are submitting a go well with in opposition to the opposite uninsured driver, then you would need to provoke the method inside a two-year time interval. You would file a go well with for those who or your passengers have been injured, if there was injury to your automobile, or if an individual’s accidents resulted in loss of life. If somebody dies because of a collision, the reason for motion accrues the date the particular person died.

You Nonetheless Want a Lawyer for UM/UIM Claims

An Austin automotive accident lawyer will have the ability to information you thru the claims course of. They are going to show you how to manage your medical payments and request medical data out of your physicians.

A automotive accident lawyer will draft a requirement letter to your insurance coverage service. This letter will request that you just be pretty compensated on your accidents and injury to your automotive. We’re ready to take your case to court docket if we’re unable to barter a good settlement along with your auto insurer.

Continuously Requested Questions

Under are some widespread questions our attorneys hear about insurance coverage in Texas. Attain out to our workplace instantly you probably have extra issues.

How Many Uninsured Drivers Are on the Street?

In 2019, one in eight drivers didn’t have insurance coverage, in accordance with a research by the Insurance coverage Analysis Council. That fee is, sadly, a nine-year excessive. Mississippi had essentially the most uninsured drivers at almost 1/3, adopted by Michigan at 1/4.

What Occurs If You Get Caught Driving Uninsured in Texas?

In each state however New Hampshire, drivers are required to have auto insurance coverage if they’ve a automobile of their identify. Penalties range from state to state however sometimes embody fines and paying a better insurance coverage premium.

What Is the Common Value of Auto Insurance coverage in Texas?

In accordance with a survey of 1,560 Texas zip codes, the typical yearly value of full protection automotive insurance coverage is $1,823. That’s $151 month-to-month. Auto insurance coverage in Texas prices $149 extra per yr than the nationwide common. Here’s a breakdown of the most costly cities in Texas through which to buy automotive insurance coverage:

  • Houston – $2,146/yr
  • San Antonio – $1,837/yr
  • Dallas – $2,093/yr
  • Austin – $1,796/yr
  • Fort Price – $1,856/yr
  • El Paso – $1,830/yr
  • Arlington – $1,915/yr
  • Corpus Christi – $1,806/yr
  • Plano – $1,819/yr
  • Lubbock – $1,771/yr

Whereas these prices appear excessive, they’re actually extra cheap than being caught with paying one other driver for a brand new automotive after totaling their previous one or paying for somebody’s lifelong everlasting incapacity. It’s not unusual for a automotive accident declare to value wherever from $5,000-$250,000+.

Can Somebody Go to Jail for Driving With out Insurance coverage in Texas?

Driving with out insurance coverage is a misdemeanor in Texas, however you aren’t more likely to be arrested in case you are driving uninsured. When you might not face jail time, you’ll greater than doubtless obtain a high-quality between $175-$350. There can also be an ongoing penalty in your driver’s license renewal of +$250/yr for as much as three years. If you’re caught driving with out insurance coverage once more, count on these fines to extend as much as $350-$1,000. You may also have your automotive impounded or your license revoked for driving with out insurance coverage.

Which Main Insurance coverage Corporations Provide the Most Reasonably priced Protection in Texas?

A coverage from White Mountains is simply $424 per yr in Texas on common. USAA, which is barely obtainable to members of the army, is $395 per yr. State Farm ($518), State Auto ($628), and Sentry ($721) additionally supply among the best charges in Texas.

What’s The Minimal Insurance coverage Protection in Texas?

Within the Lone Star, roughly 1 / 4 of drivers are underinsured. That is simply as unlawful as being altogether uninsured. To be underinsured signifies that a driver fails to hold the state’s minimal quantity of legal responsibility protection. Texas requires the next insurance coverage protection minimums— something much less may end up in pricey fines.

  1. $25,000 for property injury
  2. $30,000 for private harm per particular person
  3. $60,000 for private harm per accident

Contact an Austin Automotive Accident Lawyer Right now

If you’re concerned in a automotive accident in Texas, you will have a talented Austin accident lawyer in Austin, Texas. Contact Terry and Kelly at your earliest comfort for a session to get the whole lot you might be owed in case you are in a collision with uninsured drivers.


Leave a Reply